Baked Eggs in Sour Cream

Baked eggs.

They make life so easy. Just prep them and pop them in the oven. I love that when you’re feeling a little lazy but you still want breakfast.

This version is made with sour cream instead of heavy cream. I just never have heavy cream on hand and I just don’t find it very useful. I like to buy things that are multi use, like cream cheese and sour cream.

Now generally I like eggs with a runny yolk. I’ve tried making this dish twice now and I’ve never achieved a runny yolk. The egg yolk always turns out hard. I’m not sure if that’s just the way it turns out, but it’s still good. Once it’s done baking and has cooled off a bit, I just break up the egg with a fork and use my toast sticks as little spoons. It’s really delish.

Exciting News! I’ve found the error of my ways. I made these eggs in a fairly tall ramekin, if you use a shorter ramekin you can get a runnier yolk. The walls of my ramekin were preventing air from circulating and therefore made it take longer to cook, hence the hard yolk.

Baked Eggs with Sour Cream with Goat Cheese
Serves 1

1 whole egg
1/2 tbsp butter
1 tsp milk
2 tbsp sour cream
Seasonings: salt, pepper, parsley
Extras: sharp cheddar, goat cheese (ideas: ham, tomatoes, spinach)

1. Preheat oven to 375F degrees.

2. Thoroughly butter a ramekin. Add the milk, sour cream, and butter. Mix in the cheese. Top with whatever toppings you have. Crack an egg into the ramekin, season to taste.

3. Place a shallow baking pan in the oven. Fill the pan with hot water so that it comes about halfway up the sides of the ramekin.

5. Bake for about 15 minutes. I put it under the broiler for about 5 minutes to brown the top. Serve with toast.

3 thoughts on “Baked Eggs in Sour Cream

  1. Pingback: Bible-era Themed Christmas Dinner Ideas - Recipe Finder

  2. Yum!! I love sour cream like nobody’s business, but I’ve never seen it paired with eggs before. Sounds delicious! This would be such a nice break from the old Eggo breakfasts. :D

Leave a Reply

