Mini Turkey Meatloaves

Did you have a meal that your mom would make that your eyes would just widen in horror? That you’d groan and drag your body to the dinner table?
That was meatloaf for me.

No there was nothing wrong with my mom’s meatloaf, I just really hated ketchup. I still do, even though I like tomato sauce and made my peace with tomatoes. But not ketchup. If ketchup touches my fries they are instantly pawned off to anyone around so that no more become “tainted” with ketchup.

I always associated meatloaf and ketchup. They always went hand in hand. But not while I’m behind the counter!

And so I present you Mini Turkey Meatloaves via Ina Garten. The original recipe calls for 5 pounds of ground turkey, which seeing as there’s only the two of us, is laughable. Cutting the recipe in half would be good for four people, so cutting it in fourths resulted in the following recipe. We even had leftovers.

I used panko breadcrumbs because I didn’t have normal breadcrumbs. Seriously I have 3 bags of panko in my pantry, I have no idea how why. Other blogs said panko makes the meatloaf lighter and less dense, but I just used what I had on hand.

I really love this meatloaf. It’s soft and flavorful and just a great dinner with the weather getting cooler. Oh and the gravy is bomb. How can you go wrong with roasted garlic, broth, butter, and herbs?

Mini Turkey Meatloaves
Adapted from Ina Garten
Serves 2

3/4 cup chopped yellow onion
1/2 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon fresh black pepper
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme (or 1/2 tsp. fresh thyme)
4 teaspoon Worcestershire Sauce
1/4 cup chicken stock or beef stock
1/2 teaspoon tomato paste
1 1/4 pounds ground turkey breast
1/2 cup plain bread crumbs
1 egg, beaten

1. Preheat oven to 325F.

2. In a medium saute pan, over medium-low heat, cook the onions, olive oil, salt, pepper, and thyme until translucent, but not browned, approximately 15 minutes. Add the Worcestershire sauce, chicken stock, and tomato paste and mix well. Allow to cool to room temperature.

3. Combine the ground turkey, panko, egg, and onion mixture in a large bowl. Mix well and shape into mini loaves on an ungreased sheet pan. Spread ketchup evenly on top.

4. Bake for 1 hour or until the internal temperature is 160 degrees F. and the meatloaf is cooked through. (A pan of hot water in the oven under the meatloaf will keep the top from cracking.) Serve hot, at room temperature, or cold in a sandwich.

Roasted Garlic Gravy
5 cloves roasted garlic
2 tablespoons butter, at room temperature
2 tablespoons flour or cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon each of chopped thyme, chives, and parsley

1. Combine the butter and flour and cook a few minutes to combine and thicken.

2. Pour in the broth and roasted garlic and simmer over medium high heat for about 10 to 15 minutes, or until lightly thickened. Add the herbs.

3. Slice the meatloaf into serving portions and spoon the hot sauce over the meatloaf and serve.

You may also like

Mini Turkey Pot Pies

Turkey Chili

Ina’s Individual Meatloaves

2 thoughts on “Mini Turkey Meatloaves

  1. This looks wonderful! I have the same problem with ketchup…the smell of it reminds me of ucky school lunches, for some reason! I usually make ours with bar-b-que sauce. :) I’ll have to try this recipe!

Leave a Reply

