Johnny Cakes

I just think it’s hilarious that these are also called Hoecakes, like my boyfriend would jokingly call me that or something. ┬áRecently fellow food blogger, Rufus, made Johnnycakes and I was just dying to have them the next morning.

When I started looking up recipes, the thing I found was that there are a ton of variations. Some have no flour, some add upwards to 2 cups of boiling water, some use baking powder, or self rising flour. To be honest I just gave up. I really just stuck to what I wanted- more cornmeal than flour, I didn’t have any self rising flour, so this is what I came up with. I also just happened to have some leftover corn on the cob, so I cut the kernels off and added them to the mix.

Oh and as a little helpful hint, whenever I’m pan frying a batter like this, I’ll fry one initially, taste it, and then change whatever I think needs to be changed.

Johnny Cakes

I really liked having mine with a little butter and syrup. I don’t usually eat a lot of syrup, so I really enjoyed it! You could really top it with anything, Matt put jelly on his. But you could use honey, apple butter, applesauce, syrup, sorghum butter, etc. Instead of breakfast, they could also be great for appetizers. You could go savory by topping them with salsa or even bbq chicken!

I actually like these more than normal pancakes. They were a lot more interesting because of the texture from the cornmeal. Plus the addition of the corn kernels made it feel even more special.

Johnny Cakes
3/4 cups cornmeal
1/2 cup flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1 tbsp sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup corn (optional)
2 tbsp water
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 egg

1. Mix together dry ingredients in a medium bowl. In a small bowl, mix together buttermilk, water, and egg. Then add the liquid ingredients to the dry and mix to combine.

2. Heat a griddle or other flat pan (preferably cast iron) and add some oil and butter.

3. Spoon about an 1/8 cup of batter onto the griddle. Once it begins to bubble around the edges and the bottom is browned, flip over and press down gently.

4. Remove when browned and serve warm with anything from honey, butter, syrup, etc.

3 thoughts on “Johnny Cakes

Leave a Reply

