Creamy Sausage and Potato Soup

I’ve been so excited for fall. I started decorating my house for fall in September, even though it was still getting up to 90 degrees. I bought my first pumpkin on October 1st. Why am I so excited about fall? Soups. Plain and simple.

If you haven’t attempted a soup, you really should.They are really simple. A bit of sauteing and then boiling. One pot mess. Love it.

So here’s a soup based loosely on the Zuppa Tuscano Soup at Olive Garden. I mean loosely. Just happened to have everything on hand and turned it into a delicious soup. How can it not be good with sausage and bacon and potatoes and cream?

Creamy Sausage and Potato Soup
Serves 5-6

1 pound sausage (could be turkey, italian, or bratwurst)
1 piece bacon, chopped
1 onion, chopped
1 carrot, diced
4 medium russet potatoes, sliced 1/4 inch thick
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes or cayenne pepper
1 1/2 tsp dried oregano
4 cups chicken broth
1 cup half and half or cream or milk
salt and pepper to taste

1. Brown sausage in a dutch oven or large pot. Break apart into bite sized pieces. Remove from heat, drain extra fat, and set aside.

2. Add bacon to the pot and fry until most of the fat is rendered and is somewhat crisp. Add the onions and saute until translucent.

3. Add sausage, carrots, potatoes, cayenne or red pepper flakes, oregano, and chicken broth. (if you have kale you can add it at this point). Raise heat to medium high until boiling, then lower to medium low and let simmer for 10-15 minutes.

4. Add the dairy (milk/half and half/cream) and continue simmering for another 10 – 15 minutes, or until vegetables are tender. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

5. Serve warm in bowls.

2 thoughts on “Creamy Sausage and Potato Soup

  1. Hi Amanda! I sent you an email letting you know you’re the winner of the giveaway for Home Made Winter! Can you get in touch with me to let me know where I can send the book? If I don’t hear from you by the end of tomorrow (or if you’re not interested anymore) I’ll pick another winner. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

