Corn Dog Bites

I have a strange obsession with corn dogs.

It’s a pretty new thing, but I crave and get so excited for a corn dog.  I wasn’t always that way.  I remember being a kid and we’d have those frozen corn dogs that you would microwave.  I liked them enough, but they weren’t amazing.  The batter was soggy and most often the hot dog would be unevenly cooked.  Then I ordered a corn dog from a bar and that crispy crust was soooo good!

I really shouldn’t eat a lot of corn dogs so when I found these Mini Corn Dog bites from Iowa Girl Eats I was thrilled.  What better way to eat baked corn dogs than in mini muffin form?!

So yes, I love these. I made a huge batch so I could have them whenever I want. But if you’re normal and make these for a party, you could make these ahead of time and then reheat them in the oven for a few minutes. I love appetizers that you could do that for! You could also freeze them, but I’m pretty sure I’ll finish them pretty soon. Just thaw and toast to reheat.

Corn Dog Bites
Recipe from Iowa Girl Eats
Makes 48 bites

1/2 cup melted butter
1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup cornmeal
1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
8-10 all-beef hot dogs, cut into 1″ bites

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Combine butter and sugar in a bowl, and whisk to combine. Add eggs and whisk to incorporate. Add buttermilk and whisk to incorporate.

2. In a separate bowl, combine baking soda, cornmeal, flour, and salt, and stir to combine. Whisk into wet ingredients in two batches.

3. Spray a mini muffin tin with non-stick spray, and spoon 1 Tablespoon of batter into each mini muffin cup. Place one hot dog bite into the middle of each cup.

4. Bake for 8-12 minutes (it took 15 for mine), or until cornbread is golden brown. Cool in mini muffin tin for 5 minutes before serving. Store leftovers in the refrigerator, and re-heat for 20-30 seconds before serving.

5 thoughts on “Corn Dog Bites

Leave a Reply

