Glazed Orange Scones

I love how Matt will come home from work with a box full of fruit from his coworkers. I’ve had boxes of tomatoes, plums, and currently I’m getting boxes of citrus. At first I started decorating with all the oranges, filling bowls around the house with the lovely bright colors. But then I started having empty bowls around the house cause Matt was eating them so quickly! So in reality, decorating with fruit just won’t work in our house.

Sometimes it’s hard for me to follow a recipe. Say this morning when I wanted to make orange scones. I look up orange scones but notice in the photos that it looks more crumbly than I like. I really like scones that are moist and more biscuit like than dry. That’s why I like to make my scones with sour cream. I stumbled on a recipe for glazed orange scones at My Baking Addition. But I really liked the look of the savory scones at Joy the Baker. So I mished mashed these two recipes, cut it in half (since there’s only two of us) and came up with this recipe!

These scones are so moist! No dry scones here! The secret is using sour cream. Sure these are very biscuit like, but that’s the way I like it. There’s a slight citrus flavor to these and the glaze adds a great amount of orangey sweetness. Crumbly, moist, citrusy, and sweet. Love it.

Glazed Orange Scones
Adapted from My Baking Addition and Joy the Baker
Makes 8-12 small scones

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tbsp sugar
Zest of one medium orange
1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 tbsp unsalted butter, cold and cut into cubes
1 egg, beaten
1 1/2 tablespoons cold water
6 tbsp sour cream, cold

1 1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter; melted
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar; sifted
1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice

1. Place rack in the center and upper third of the oven and preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

2. Line baking sheet with parchment paper or silpat and set aside.

3. In a mixing bowl, combine sugar and orange zest; mix with your fingertips until the sugar is moistened and fragrant. Add in the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt and mix until combined. Cut in butter pastry cutter until mixture resembles a coarse meal.

4. In another bowl, combine sour cream, water, and half of beaten egg (since I halved the recipe I only needed half the egg, I used the other half for the egg wash). Beat lightly with a fork. Add to flour mixture all at once, stirring enough to make a soft and shaggy dough.

5. Dump mixture on a clean counter to knead the dough together. The mixture will come together in about 10 to 15 kneads.

6. Roll or pat out into a 1-inch thickness. Cut into 2-inch rounds using a biscuit cutter or cut into 2Ă—2-inch squares. Reshape and roll dough to create more biscuits with excess scraps. Place on prepared baking sheet, brush with egg wash.

7. Bake until golden, about 12-15 minutes. Let cool while preparing glaze.

8. In a small bowl, prepare the glaze by mixing together the melted butter, confectioners’ sugar, vanilla and orange juice. Whisk until smooth. Dip the top of the scones into the glaze and allow the glaze to harden. At this point, you can leave them as is or go for the double dip.

3 thoughts on “Glazed Orange Scones

Leave a Reply

